ELECTION NOTICE - E2025/36

Transport Workers' Union of Australia

Scheduled Election

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

National Office

- National President (1)
- National Vice-President (1)
- National Trustees (3)

Nominations, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 10:00am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) 19/05/2025 at the meeting of National Council.

A National Councillor is only eligible to nominate for, hold or retain the position of the National President and National Vice-President if that person has been a *Financial Member continuously for the previous 3 years*.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 10:30am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) **on** 19/05/2025.

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via one of the following methods: **By Hand:** To the Returning Officer, AEC, Westin Hotel, 111 Mary St, Brisbane, QLD 4000

Voting Period

The Attendance ballot, if required, will open in Westin Hotel, 111 Mary St, Brisbane, QLD, 4000 on 19/05/2025 at 11:30am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) and close at 12:00pm Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 19/05/2025.

Absent Voting

Where a position is contested, in accordance with Rule 58(11), any National Councillor who is not present at the meeting on Monday 19 May 2025 must be sent a ballot paper.

In conducting the ballot if anyone on the roll does not vote in person, the Returning Officer will create a postal voting period for those members who are not able to attend the meeting. Votes will be received from those at the meeting; however, the counting of votes will not be conducted until the close of the postal part of the ballot.

Scrutineers

A candidate may at the time of nomination appoint in writing to the Returning Officer *one* scrutineer.

The appointment of scrutineers opens 12/05/2025 and closes 10:30am Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) on 19/05/2025. A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

Other Information

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Benjamin Murray (Returning Officer)

Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au

